Welcome to Green Smoothie Mimi

I am starting this blog because I have been a Type 2 Diabetic for 10 years. I have been on oral medication and diet to control it. Recently my blood sugar was very high and I went to the after hours clinic to have it checked out. I will tell you more of this story as we go along, but the short version is that that was 3 weeks and 4 days ago. It was 325 that night, and apparently had been high like that for about 3 months according to the A1C (test diabetics have taken at the doctor to tell them your average for last 3 months) I had taken 6 weeks earlier.  I didn’t know this because 6 weeks earlier when I was supposed to go in to see the doctor for a follow up on my labs I woke up sick.  I was throwing up and couldn’t keep the appointment.  Apparently, my A1C was 10.9!!!  It was off the charts!  I was a walking time bomb.

I had never had and A1C higher than 7.8 in 10 years! 7.0 is what a diabetic is hoping for, and 5.9-6.2 is what a normal non-diabtic’s numbers would be.  I was really scared!  The weird thing was that a year ago when I started drinking green smoothies and eating more raw my A1C in November last year about 6 months after I started all of that was 6.2!  That is what a non diabetic would be.  So, in 6 short months it changed drastically!  I was still drinking green smoothies but I had traveled to see family in January and also I had a major gall bladder attack in March and surgery to have it removed in April during this bad A1C testing time.  I think all that played a part in how high it was.

My blood pressure was also high that night at the clinic, probably because I was so scared!

I had just gotten a new glucose meter which is how I found out it was so high. I was told that night, since it was a Friday night (and the doctor at the after hours clinic was not my doctor), to double my oral meds and take a pill at night as well as one in the morning. I scheduled an appointment to come back in 6 days to see what had happened after doubling the oral meds. My doctor was on vacation so I went to see the other doctor (from the clinic) again. That doctor had taken another A1C test that night at the clinic and he had the results: 11.1!  That meant that the 6 weeks since my lab results it had gone even higher!  My blood sugar  had started coming down and he said I probably would not have to do insulin yet, and that he wanted me to add another oral med to help it come down. When I went to get that prescription filled the insurance was not willing to pay for it, unless they tried one of 2 other meds first. At that point I just decided to take all the nutritional information I have been gathering and trying to do but not diligently and start trying straight nutrition and keep taking the 2 pills, one in the morning and one at night.  I took ALL refined sugar completely out of my diet (it crept into my diet in salad dressings and bread, etc,) and I quit eating  animal protein and all oils except Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Flax Seed Oil and Unrefined Coconut oil. NO processed foods of any kind and all whole grains.  No more eating wheat bread from the grocery store!  Well, as I said, it has been 3 weeks and 4 days since that night and tonight at bedtime, my blood sugar level is 81 and I have not taken any meds today!  This blog is to tell you how I did that, and to share great tips on making delicious dishes while only eating greens, veggies, fruits, nuts, seed and whole grains ONLY.  So come along on this journey with me and I hope you can learn something that I have recently learned to help yourself or someone else!

2 thoughts on “Welcome to Green Smoothie Mimi

Leave a Reply

