What I Eat

Some of you may be wondering what it is I actually eat and don’t eat. Fist of all let me say that I owe figuring this out mainly to God and to Greensmoothiegirl.com! I have benefited from much on the internet that backed up what Greensmoothiegirl.com tells you in her 12 Steps to Whole Foods Course.  Many sources confirm what she says. This all started for me when I read her book  The GREEN SMOOTHIE DIET. But it was a year after all of that that I purchased her 12 STEPS TO WHOLE FOODS COURSE. It was, bar none the best thing I ever did regarding my health. The 2nd best thing and just as important was to purchase a Vita-Mix Pro 500 Blender from J.L. Hufford (best price). Greensmoothiegirl.com takes all the trial and error out and saves you years of figuring it out on your own. Here is a basic rundown of what I do and don’t eat from now on:

What I eat now  – Whole Foods ONLY

Greens – spinach, bok choy, kale, dinosaur kale, swiss chard, parsley, cilantro, collards, turnip greens, mustard greens (in smoothies) spinach, romaine, red and green leaf for salads.

Veggies – a very wide variety of mostly raw and some cooked veggies
I love radishes, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, celery, summer squash, cabbage, corn, snow peas, sugar snap peas, tomatoes, turnips, potatoes, peppers, etc.

(a potato once in a while with a topping I make from sesame seeds, garlic, almonds, etc.
all natural and whole ingredients)

(sweet potatoes with unrefined coconut oil and cinnamon on it is also a treat)

Fruit – 1/2 banana and 1/2 apple and 1 cup berries in my green smoothie, plus 1 slice of lime with the peel in my green smoothie everyday
fresh blueberries, strawberries, and raspberries, an orange, pear or plum as a treat from time to time

Hummus – I simply love it! (made from chickpeas, garlic, sesame paste)

Nuts, seeds – sesame seeds, pumpkin seeds, quinoa, almonds, walnuts, pecans, etc.
I put golden flaxseed and brown flaxseed in my smoothie every day ) 4TB or so

Whole grains only (a variety) quinoa, buckwheat, oats, brown rice, spelt, millet, etc)

Sprouts – put them on salads, in salad dressings and in green smoothies ( I sprout them myself)

Legumes – lentils, black eyes peas, black beans, kidney beans, lima beans, navy beans, pinto beans, spit peas, etc.

I eat 5% or less animal protein in the form of tuna, white chicken, free range eggs

I do eat only coconut oil (unrefined virgin), olive oil (EVOO) and flax seed oil

I do not eat ANY trans fats, canola oil, vegetable oil, corn oil, crisco peanut, etc.
I do not eat dairy, except greek yogurt or kefir
I do not eat any refined sugar or sugar substitutes, only natural sweetners (Agave, stevia)

What is in my green smoothies? 1 QT has 1/2 banana, 1/2 apple, 15+ servings of greens (assorted) 1 slice fresh ginger root, 1 slice lime with peel, sprouts, bee pollen,
greek 0% fat yogurt, stevia, agave nectar, flaxseed, cinnamon, tumeric, cayenne pepper, broccoli, about 4-5 large frozen strawberries and about 1 cup frozen blueberries

As you can see, I have plenty of variety!
God is so good! He made all this wonderful variety of food for us to enjoy!!
There is really no reason to eat the things that we weren’t meant to eat like trans fats, etc.

One thought on “What I Eat

  1. In a nutshell to explain the posting above:
    3 weeks and 5 days ago I checked my blood sugar: 325 (normal is 70-140)
    I have been diabetic for 10 years on oral meds.
    It had never been that high. (see complete story below)
    I had to start doubling my meds and possibly was told I might have to go on insulin.
    I started being serious about the above diet and in 3 weeks and five days I have gone down to 1 pill a day again, and as of today no pills for 36 hours and my blood sugar was stable at 80 this morning and was 81 when I went to bed last night.
    I only tell you these numbers to show you that what you put in your body and exercise makes all the difference in the world!
    This blog is about my personal journey through this and I hope to help someone else along the way that wants to take back more control of their health. It is amazing how God made our bodies to function if we would only put into it what he intended for us to eat!
    Read the book: The China Study – Dr. Colin Campbell for much more info.

Leave a Reply

