Galatians 2:20

I do not want to diminish in anyway how God has helped me to walk down this road and be successful.
He does not get out his magic wand and just make me not want the foods I used to eat, but he does help in so many amazing ways. Here are some of the the ways that He has helped me.

1. First of all, he made me. He made you. He made our bodies in such of way that if they have the proper fuel and not the improper fuel they will respond in amazing ways! I have abused food off and on for about my whole life, and I am certain that 20 years of insulin resistance added up to 10 years of medication controlled diabetes, because I was not willing do the research to find out how I could eat in such a way that my body would reverse the damage. But after 40+ years of abuse that my body has suffered at my hand ( some knowlingly and some not knowingly, but nevertheless at my hand) in just 4 short weeks it has responded so amazingly to giving it precisely what it needs!

2. That brings me to the second way He has helped me! His patience and longsuffering for me and for others in protecting us from total health failure while we continued along the path of abusing ourselves whether knowingly or unknowingly. We have all bought into the Standard American Diet (S.A.D.) and eaten things we know aren’t good for us and some things we didn’t know, but still were not good for us.

3. He has given me strength to carry on in this. He doesn’t do it without my participation, but when I got serious and then I started to miss something I used to eat, he helped me through all of that to the point of my not even wanting that food now. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Anyone could do this for a little while with the proper motivation and get results. You may or may not acknowledge God’s part in how your body responds, but you cannot, in your own strength continue to do this in this food crazed culture we now live in by your own strength. So, he lifts me up and gives me strength.

4. He makes our bodies so that when processed sugar is completely out of our system, vegetable taste better, fruit tastes sweeter, and that craving for sugar is gone. He also makes our bodies so that all the times we craved meat because of the fat it has in it, we won’t crave those things when that is also out of our system completely. I know, I know, you say, but meat is not bad for you. It may not be in small quantities, but if you are insulin resistant, or becoming insulin resistant animal fat will catapult you forward into full blown diabetes at some point in the future. So, if you have to have that meat, I understand…..I have been there for over 40 years!, just eat it in moderation and not at every meal and make sure you only eat a serving the size of a deck of cards or smaller.

5. He takes away my chains. There is a Christian song out now that is called, My Chains Are Gone. It is about how when Christ saves you he sets you free. The main part of the song says this:
My chains are gone, I’ve been set free. My God, my Savior has ransomed me. And like a flood, His mercy reigns, unending love, Amazing Grace. Well, I can tell you, MY CHAINS ARE GONE, I’VE BEEN SET FREE! This song is talking about our chains of sin are gone and now Jesus reigns in our hearts and we have been forgiven for all of our sin. And that is true for me, but He reached down after 50+ years and set me free from the chains of food. I was putting food in too high a place, and He has set me free from that forever!

6. There are so many little ways that He helps me along this journey, but everytime I read my glucose levels and they are normal, His design of our human bodies amazes me all over again!

I know that some who read this may not understand this post, but I would be amiss if I did not tell you where my strength actually comes from. If you do not know the Savior, and the Lord of Life, I urge you to pick up a Bible and read the Gospel accounts of who Jesus really is. Matthew, Mark, Luke and John are a good place to start. Actually the whole Bible is a story about Jesus, not just the new Testament.

The Scripture that has been especially dear to me during the last 5 weeks of this journey is:
Galatians 2:20
” I am crucified with Christ, and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.”

You see, if it is no longer I who lives that means I am dead to myself and alive to Christ. Well, if I am really dead, then I have no will about whether I eat roast beef or a salad. It is just necessary to eat to physically live but if I have died to self, then it stands to reason the dead people don’t care about what they eat, just that they get nourishment. So, it is no longer I who lives….
God Bless you!

3 thoughts on “Galatians 2:20

  1. Lorie, I’m tearing up as I read your post. I too have placed too much emphasis on food. I went to a new rheumatologist (we moved to FL in Mar.) today and she gave me a sheet of foods to avoid. I have gained weight through the last 7 yrs. of being a caregiver to my mother and now it’s time to make Mary healthier! I also need to exercise more even though I am fatigued with rheumatoid arthritist, fibromyalgia, and . . . Thanks so much for your blog. I will look forward to future posts. Maybe before to long I will have some good news to share with you.

  2. Mary, I will be praying for you! Also, I would HIGHLY recommend you finding a copy of The China Study (see blog article about it) at the library or on Amazon, (I got mine used in super condition from Amazon) and read all of it! It will change the way you see food forever! It is a real eye opener and full of hope!!!

Leave a Reply

