Quick and Easy Stir Fry

This is one of my very favorite meals and so quick and easy!

I have to put a plug in for Costco at this point. Costco has a stir fry in it’s own brand that is outstanding!. They actually have 2 different frozen stir fries in their store brand name, Kirkland’s. I have only tried one (Stir Fry Vegetable Blend), but the veggies are so good you would swear they were cooked from fresh! Here is what I do:

I make cauliflower rice (see my post on cauliflower rice for the recipe).

While that is cooking I do this:

2 TB unrefined virgin coconut oil (I get this at Whole Foods, but you can also order online)
2 cloves of fresh garlic, minced
Kirkland’s Vegetable Blend Stir Fry (Costco)
Nama Shoyu to taste ( I get this also at Whole Foods, but you can get it online)
( this is the Cadillac of soy sauces, and you will not believe how good it tastes!)
Fresh Mushrooms (optional)

I heat the coconut oil in the skillet, while my cauliflower rice is cooking in the microwave
As soon as the oil is heated I add the minced garlic, saute’  for about 30 seconds by itself and then add the Veggie Blend Stir Fry to the skillet. (The amount varies depending on how much you are cooking. My husband and I both love this dish, so for us I would put enough veggies to cover the bottom of the skillet.)  I immediately begin tossing the veggies. They get brighter in color and I don’t cook them too much. I like the nice bright color and I like them a little crispy rather than soft. (about 4 minutes, the less cooking the better for your health)  I then put the Nama Shoyu soy sauce on the veggies just before I stop the cooking. You add this to your liking.

I take it off the burner and put the cauliflower rice on our plates and immediately split what is in the skillet onto both plates. My husband loves mushrooms, so if I have some fresh mushrooms on hand, I leave his portion in the skillet just a tiny bit longer and add the sliced fresh white button mushrooms to his stir fry and toss until the mushrooms are coated and started to get just a tiny bit soft! My husband doesn’t seem to really miss the meat in this meal.

Bonus: When I check my blood sugar after this dish, it has not spiked and that is the best part!!  This is an extremely low carb meal, only the carbs that are naturally in the veggies (and remember, your rice is another veggie!)

Leave a Reply

