Sunday Dinner!

 

Today I had some family over for lunch.  We were having Spaghetti.  Yes, they did want meat in their sauce.  So, I made myself some sauce without meat.  I also wanted a little bit of whole wheat penne pasta, but knew I couldn’t eat a lot.  I got an idea and it worked great and it was soooooo good!  I steamed some of those skinny fresh french type green beans (just a handful) to mix with the penne so I could have a little of the pasta but not very much.  It worked great and it was very tasty, actually it was a real treat.  My family had meat sauce and my daughter and I had my non meat very rich tasting sauce.   ( I used the steamer basket in my rice cooker to steam the green beans while I got the rest of the meal ready. )

I actually got this sauce recipe from a Rachel Ray recipe for Rattatoui.  It was so good it will now be my recipe for spaghetti sauce!  Here is the recipe for that sauce with one added ingredient.

1 medium onion chopped

2 TB Extra Virgin Olive Oil

3 garlic cloves minced

2 roasted red peppers, skinned (I bought a jar of these in water and a little salt) and chopped

Cook this over medium heat for about 5 minutes until the onions are turning clear.  Put this mixture in your food processor and puree along with one 8 oz (small) can of Hunts tomato sauce.  Process until nice and smooth.

2 packets of Truvia (Stevia) for a sweeter taste (this is my added ingredient) Serve immediately!

(I used to put a little sugar in my homemade meat sauce so I thought the sweetening would be a nice touch.  It was perfect!  So try this out sometime.  The amazing flavor that the red pepper gives this sauce is superb!! )

Leave a Reply

