Holy Moly Tostados for Sunday lunch!!!

I made these tostados with left overs of what I took to a potluck last night!

We were invited to some friends house to watch fireworks everyone was to bring a dish! As you know, most of what is usually brought to these get togethers are NOT what I can eat because of sauces, dairy,  eggs, sodium and meat. This is just a glimpse into the life of an “accidental” Vegan. So, what that means for me is that I either need to bring a salad to supplement or enough of 2 – 3 dishes that I can eat but that will also “hopefully” taste good to everyone else. Last night I was in a Mexican Mood so I brought 2 Mexicany (is that a word?) things and some fresh brocolli and sprouted garbonzo and parsely hummus to dip the brocolli into. What I made for Sunday lunch was basically created using the Holy Moly Black Bean Dip and the Guacamole, and adding the necessary ingredients to turn that into tostadas.

First you need the recipes for the bean dip and the guacamole:

Guacamole – I took 4 ripe (not too squishy, but just right) avocados and mashed them up saving one of the seeds. I rinsed that off to place in the middle of the guacamole because that keeps it fresher longer. I rinsed off that seed and set aside for the finished product. Then I added 5 cloves of fresh minced garlic, some Himalayan Crystal Salt (OHCS), and the lime juice out of one small lime, and about 3 Compari tomatoes chopped up. I mixed all this together and then I put it in a bowl and stuck the saved avocado seed in the middle of the guacamole. Chilled it and went on to the bean dip.

Bean Dip Recipe
I got this recipe off of the Plant Based Dietician’s website. There is a video on how to make this on her website. I added one small extra ingredient. This recipe is called Holy Moly Bean Dip. Here are the ingredients and directions:

Healthy Holy Moly Bean Dip

1 can low sodium refried beans with no oil or lard, etc. (pinto or black)
(ingredients should have only beans, water, salt, maybe lime juice) I found these at Walmart and they were a Mexican brand.

1 can salt free black beans (pinto or black) or low sodium if you can’t find salt free ( rinse very well to rinse off lots of the sodium)

1 cup salt free, oil free salsa ( I used some chipotle salsa, but any will do) – chipotle gives it a somewhat smokey flaver!

1/3 cup fresh lime juice + zest if you want it

3 cloves of garlic

1 TB chipotle paste or 1/4 tsp chipotle powder (I got the powder at Whole Foods)  +* my added ingredient was 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper!

2 tsp raw cocoa powder ( I used cacao powder, but hershey cocoa would work too)

BLEND IN POWER BLENDER

Then add 1/2 cup raw hemp seed or raw cashews and blend again
( I used raw cashews)

Optional: 1/2 tsp xanthum gum for thickening ( I did not use this)

CHIPS: Get whole grain tortillas than have only corn and lime juice as ingredients, or brown rice tortillas (Whole Foods has both) I use sprouted corn tortillas from Whole Foods because they are healthier.

Cut tortillas with pizza cutter into chip pieces and turn oven on 375 degrees. Spread out on cookie sheet, preferably with silpat mat on cookie sheet or a stone cookie sheet. Put water in a small spray bottle and spray water on each chip. You don’t need any oil! Bake 5 minutes, turn over, spray again and add some Sea Salt or Himalayan Crystal salt and bake 5 more minutes. ( you could also add some taco seasoning or chili powder sparingly)  Check for crispiness and if they are done take them out, or if they are still a little soft leave for 2 more minutes! Very healthy and yummy!

HOLY MOLY TOSTADOS

Take the corn tortillas (I use sprouted from Whole Foods) and put on a cookie sheet ( do not cut into pieces).  Turn oven on 375-400 degrees.  When preheated  spray the tortillas with a mist of water.  Cook for about 10 minutes on one side.  Take out and turn over and spray more water on the tortilla and bake it about 5-6 more minutes and check it.  Cook to your desired doneness.

When the tortillas are done, spread warm HOLY MOLY bean dip on each of the tortillas.  Put guacamole gently over the bean dip and top with lettuce, chopped Compari tomatos and a dollop of oil free salsa of your choice…..or make your own!!!

This is a meal that most anyone would really enjoy!!  And it is completely plant based and guilt free!!!

Leave a Reply

