Ride Those Bikes!!!

I haven’t talked too much about exercise in this blog. That does not mean that I don’t do it.  I have just been writing mostly about the food so far.

Of course, exercise is a key to good health just like eating the right foods and not eating the wrong foods.

I walk on the treadmill almost every day for 2 miles at at least 3.0 miles per hour with inclines varying. Recently I decided that was not enough. I need to do some upper body strengthening too and I am just now trying to figure out what that will look like for me. However, Lyle (my husband) and I have been discussing bike riding as a possible way to do something together and get exercise at the same time.

Now, we are not in our 30’s anymore and we grew up in the 50’s and 60’s so we like thinks simple. Give me coaster brakes, I don’t want to relearn how to stop a bike!

That meant we pretty much wanted to look at Cruisers. For all you young folk out there I know the Cruiser might not be your “cup of tea” but it suits us just fine!

What we didn’t know until we started doing research is that they make what they call a comfort cruiser  (sounded good to me!) which means the center of gravity when riding is further back and you are not putting the weight on the front wheel. These bikes turned out to be exactly what we were looking for!  We ordered our bikes Saturday and they are to arrive today (Wednesday). We are so excited!  This is a completely new adventure for us two old fogies, so we will let you know how it goes. Our city has a bunch of trails so now we can go exploring to see which ones are best for us to take our grandchildren riding when they come to our house!  Hopefully they will all grow up with memories of us doing something active with them!

Lyle’s Bike:

My bike:

We realized that if we were going to be able to bring our bikes home we needed to get a bike rack.

Fortunately I found one yesterday on Craiglist and it was within practically walking distance to our house.  What luck! ….or would that be Providence?

Anyway, it was a 3 bike rack and very reasonable so Lyle installed that on my car last night so we are ready to go!

*****TIME LAPSE OF 24 HOURS*****

Well, we got a call that our bikes were ready to pick up!  How exciting!  We went to get them and test rode them in the parking lot!  Perfect and exactly what we wanted!!  We put them up on our new bike rack with the help of the girl at the store.

We hoped they stayed on all the way home…..and they did.  Then we took them for a spin in the neighborhood!  Wow, we were worn out when we got back!  We used muscles we forgot we had!  But it was fun and refreshing and it will obviously take time to build up to riding a long way on a trail.  We are truly looking forward to exploring all of that together.

Here I am standing by the car when we arrived home with our new bikes!

By the way, for those of you following my blog, I want you to know I am still doing well without my medication for diabetes, and I have lost 19 pounds so far in this journey back to health!

HAPPY EXERCISING, EVERYONE!!!

10 thoughts on “Ride Those Bikes!!!

  1. Funny, I am looking at and made inquires about Bike riding for
    exercise purposes. My interest is with the Hybird bikes for road or
    mountain trails. The only thing is the expense. I get something on
    once I’ve started. Happy riding-keep peddaling

    • Hey Dick, That is awesome. I know what you mean about the expense. Ours are TREK’s and they were on sale, and since they were cruisers without speeds and hand brakes they were not quite as expensive.
      It was so much fun to be back on a bike last night! It had probably been at least 25 years since I had been on one! You and Angie should come see us sometime!!!!!!

  2. Lorie, Check out T-Tapp for good exercise. I have been able to do the 15 min. workout for the last 2 months, and it has made me stronge. There are videos to use. The book is called “Fit and Fabulous in 15 minutes” by Teresa Tapp. Most people lose a couple or several sizes. It is a very good lymphatic workout, aids digestion, strengthens core muscles.

Leave a Reply

