Let’s Talk about Fiber!

I stumbled across this book at the library: THE FULL PLATE DIET

Although it does allow for eating meat in moderation, it basically explains a vitally important thing about healthy eating. FIBER!

You see, foods with soluble and insoluble fiber are made up a great deal by water and that makes them low in calories!  Also,  insoluble fiber is not digested, really, and goes through your system in such a way as it acts as a broom sweeping your digestive tract.  This is such a lovely subject, I know : ).  But it is an important one.  One sure way to be healthier and lose weight is to concentrate your diet on foods that are very high in fiber. Fiber itself has no calories, so foods rich in fiber have fewer calories than foods not rich in fiber!  Therefore the title of this book is Full Plate Diet because if you eat more fiber rich foods you can have a full plate and not gain weight, but, in fact, lose weight if you are not already at a good body weight for you.  Even if you eat other things too, you should start your meal with high fiber foods and that will fill you up with fewer calories so you are not as prone to eating foods that may be smaller in size but low in fiber, which is why we gain weight.    If I had followed this plan of eating earlier more consistantly, I would not have to give up eating many things now.  The problem is that I am “paying the Piper” for what I did in the past with the disease called Type 2 Diabetes.

I urge you to change this about your diet now so you will not have to go as drastic as I have had to go.  I am not complaining at all.  I am so grateful that God made our bodies in such a way that even with this disease, with diet I can pretty much change the course of where I was going!  It is just that to stay on that track I have had to give up some things for good that you may not have to (meat, dairy, eggs).  This is part of the key.  Filling up on high fiber foods.  This is the best book I have found to simply explain that in a way that is so easy to understand.  There is also a handy website that goes along with this book.  See the link below:

http://www.fullplatediet.org/fiber-calculator/

With this link you can pick  out what you eat and see how far from eating enough fiber per day  you actually are or are not.  It is sort of like a game. Your kids will enjoy playing with it as well!

Most people are very far away from 40g of fiber every day! If you use this link you will probably be surprised how far from 40 grams of fiber a day you really are!  This is one reason that I love green smoothies.  I can get about 75% of that amount of fiber in the green smoothie I drink every day.  That alone would almost do it, but when I add to that snacking on nuts, seeds and fruit and veggies it pushed me right over the top and without leaving me feeling hungry or deprived.  You can also go to http://www.fullplatediet.org and download a free copy of this book.  I am going to purchase the actual book to add to my library of favorite books about healthy eating.  I found a great deal on http://www.abebooks.com for a used copy.  It is on it’s way to my house.  This book goes through the 5 top easiest found fiber foods in 5 different categories.  It truly makes this transition to a healthier eating lifestyle very easy!  Just check out the website and the calculator.  The calculator is a real eye opener as to how much or how little fiber you are actually eating each day of our daily requirement for health.  It’s a great place to start!  I believe the biggest health issue we all have is bad digestive health.  If that was better we would be healthier as a nation. This is most definitely a way to make digestive health part of your life!

Here is a list of some of the most common foods that are rich in fiber:

TOP FIVE FRUITS:

raspberries, blackberries

pears

apples

oranges

bananas

TOP FIVE VEGETABLES:

Avocado

Broccoli

Spinach

Sweet Potatoes

Carrots

TOP FIVE BEANS:

Navy Beans

Lentils

Pinto Beans

Black Beans

Kidney Beans

TOP FIVE NUTS AND SEEDS:

Flaxseeds

Almonds

Sunflower Seeds

Peanuts

Walnuts

TOP FIVE GRAINS:

Wheat

Pearl Barley

Quinoa

Oats

Brown Rice

Look on http://www.fullplatediet.org/fiber-calculator/

to see how many grams of fiber each of these foods has.  This is not necessarily the absolutely most fiber rich foods you can find but they are the most “easily found at any grocery store” fiber rich foods, to keep it simple.

Happy eating fabulous fiber rich foods!!

Leave a Reply

