Maneuvering Through My First “Grill Out” Holiday!

Yesterday was Labor Day and we were having family over to “grill out” for the holiday.  It was a beautiful “made to order” day.  Weather in the lower 70’s and you could feel Fall in the air!!  The Dilema:  What will I eat while everyone else is eating the standard fare:  Burgers, on the grill?  I  can’t eat the baked beans, or the potato salad. HMMMMM.  Baked beans have brown sugar in them, etc.  Potato Salad has Miracle Whip or Mayonaisse and even though the skins were left on the potatoes for extra fiber and lower glycemic index, there are too many carbs to just eat mostly potatoes, plus there were boiled eggs in the salad as well!  Not stacking up to too many choices for what I would be able to eat.

I could have opted for a salad, but I wanted to be part of the grilling.  So, I decided to get out my Shish Kabob Scewers and make myself Veggie Kabobs!  They were amazingly delicious.  I forget to take a picture of them, but I googled and found some pretty close, for you to see.  I found a great marinade recipe online that I will share with you.  I also made some coleslaw with a oil/vinegar based dressing which was really good too!  I attempted to make a little bowl of my own baked beans with some black beans I had already cooked.  They were pretty good.  I only used agave nectar, a little molasses, some onions and some liquid smoke in them.  Next time I will try pinto or white beans instead.  They will probably be more like the real thing.  Here is my recipe for veggie kabob marinade.  I used 4 skewers ( I shared with everyone else, I didn’t eat all that myself!) and I cooked a little brown rice to lay the kabob over on my plate.  It was beautiful and tasted as good as it looked.  If you use bamboo skewers, be sure to soak them in water for at least 30 minutes before you load them with your veggies so they won’t burn on the grill.

These are not my actual kabobs, but here is what I had on hand to use:

I had cooked potatoes for the potato salad for everyone else.  I saved out one boiled (w/skin for the fiber) small potato and cut it into 4 pieces to save for my kabob.  If you don’t cook the potato ahead it will not be done enough when you grill it.  I put one piece of regular potato on each kabob.  I put one campari tomato (could use cherry or grape tomatoes as well) on each kabob.  I put spears of brocolli, chunks of red onion, the tiny red, orange and yellow peppers (whole) on the kabobs. (I get them at COSTCO) I put chunks of raw sweet potato on the kabobs. (By the way, if you haven’t tried raw sweet potato you might be surprised at how good it is!)  The sweet potato was not cooked a lot, but it was wonderful!  You can put whatever you like.  One idea I saw online but didn’t have available was to cut corn on the cob into about 1 inch rounds and put on your kabob!  You could put mushrooms if you like them, squash, zuchinni, egg plant, or whatever you like or have on hand.  The kabobs cooked a little bit longer than the burgers, but not much longer.  They were perfectly done and so bright and colorful.  Almost all the adults ate some of the veggies too!  I will never miss hamburgers again if I can have something this beautiful and delicious to take their place!!  First “grill out” …..SUCCESSFUL!!!

These are campari tomatoes ( I get them at COSTCO) They are on the vine and smaller than a regular tomato.  What flavor!!  Tastes like home grown.  They are about 3 times the size of a cherry tomato.  Perfect for kababs!

MARINADE RECIPE:

1/2 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1/2 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice or lime juice ( I used lemon this time)

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup Dijon Mustard

2 tablespoons maple syrup

2 tablespoons minced garlic (If you are blending it in a power blender no need to mince, just drop in 3-4 cloves to taste)

2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil leaves (didn’t have any so I used dried basil spice, about 1 teaspoon or so)

1/2 teaspoon Original Himalayan Crystal  Salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Whisk together or power blend together.  Put veggies in a container for marinading and pour marinade over the veggies.

Cover in refrigerator for at least 2 hours or overnight if you have time.  Be sure to turn container whenever you think about it to coat the veggies evenly.

Grill on outside grill for approximately 20 minutes, to desired doneness!  ENJOY!!

My lunch on Tuesday with my leftovers!  Brown Rice, Cole Slaw and Veggies from the grill!

One thought on “Maneuvering Through My First “Grill Out” Holiday!

Leave a Reply

