The Perfect and Simple Diabetic Breakfast!

Yes, it’s oatmeal! It is one of the best things you can do to lower your bad cholesterol and a diabetic needs to keep that under control so you don’t do extra damage to your kidneys, heart, arteries, etc.

I make this for our whole family and everyone loves it! Even the grandchildren, well most of them!  You don’t have to be diabetic to enjoy this breakfast!

Here is what I do:
First of all I ALWAYS used rolled (Old Fashioned) oats, or steel cut oats. NEVER use Quick or Instant. That oatmeal is processed and will raise your blood sugar. Stay away from Quick or Instant Oats!

I put the amount of water on to boil that it calls for to cook the serving amount I  want of the oatmeal.  I chop up an apple or two (depending on how much I am making – I use 1 apple for 1- 2 servings, 2 apples for 3-5, etc.) with the skin still on and put the small apple pieces in the boiling water first for about 3 minutes, to cook a little before putting the oatmeal in the water. Then I add the oatmeal and then stir. Then I  liberally add cinnamon to taste. (If you are diabetic the more the better because it helps insulin resistance!) I then cook the apples, cinnamon and oatmeal until the oatmeal looks done and starts getting thicker.

If you want to add a bit of Omega 3 to your morning diet throw in a handful of walnuts!

When you put it in your bowl, pour Agave Nectar over it and it is done!

No dairy, no animal protein, cholesterol-fighting and insulin resistance fighting all wrapped up into one!

This is a super choice for breakfast as often as possible for someone who is dealing with these health issues OR someone who just wants to eat a healthy breakfast to STAY HEALTHY!!!

Yummmmmm, and great for fall and winter mornings for sure!!

Try it, I think you will like it!!!

3 thoughts on “The Perfect and Simple Diabetic Breakfast!

Leave a Reply

