How to substitue in a recipe to make it more healthy!


Yummy, I smell Pumpkin-y Cornbread muffins in my oven. How can I eat a few? I substituted the right ingredients so I can enjoy along with those others with whom I will share these muffins at a get-together tonight!

Here is the original recipe and I will put in parenteses what I did and show you how I substituted other ingredients to make it do-able for a Vegan who does not eat even sugar! ( I also don’t eat dairy or hardly any eggs) I have only eaten part of an egg in baked goods 2 times in 3 months! There are 2 eggs in this recipe so I can only eat 2-3 of these and not all at once! But compared to other things you could bake, this recipe is ALMOST 100% Vegan!

Pumpkin-y Cornbread Muffins

1 1/4 cups flour (I used millet and ground the 1.25 cups into flour in my Magic Mill. You could do it in your VitaMix or Food processor or grain mill- you could use wheat, spelt, kamut or some other grain in place of wheat flour)
3/4 cup corn meal
2/3 cup light brown sugar
(I used Agave Nectar 1/2 cup in place of the brown sugar [you use less Agave due to the sweetness it] and the honey- see last ingredient)

I TB baking powder
1/2 tsp salt (I used Himalayan Crystal Salt)
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 cup canned pumpkin
(You can used canned, or fresh)

3/4 cup buttermilk or milk w. 1 tsp vinegar added) – (I used coconut milk and added vinegar)
1/4 cup butter, melted
(I used coconut oil)

2 eggs, room temperature (I used cage free brown eggs)
2 TB honey
(I left this out since I used 1/2 cup Agave in place of brown sugar above)

sugar for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Line a muffin tin with muffin liners or spray pan with Pam well. In a bowl, toss together flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, salt nutmeg and cinnamon. In another mixing bowl, mix with a wooden spoon, the pumpkin puree’, buttermilk, butter, eggs and honey, until well combined. Transfer to the prepared muffin tin. Sprinkle with a little sugar on top (raw sugar best). Bake for about 20-25 minutes, or until edges just begin to color. Cool to room temperature. Makes approximately 12-13 muffins.

Perfect!!

Leave a Reply

