Avocado Tostadas

This is another new favorite supper recipe. I came up with it when I was in the mood for Mexican, but didn’t want to eat something I shouldn’t ….like cheese…..or taco meat. The flavor was so good I didn’t even miss the meat OR the cheese!! I hope my recipes for favorite dinner ideas will help put some variety into your choices for dinner or supper.

Ingredients for part 1:

1 Medium size avocado
1/2 Roma tomato cut into TINY bits
Lime juice (juice from 1/4 a good sized lime)
salt (Original Himalayan Crystral Salt or Sea Salt)
2/3 TB Spanish Gardens taco sauce (my favorite) but you can use whatever you want
Garlic powder or fresh minced

Mash the Avocado up and add these ingredients to the mashed avocado and refrigerate.

Ingredients for part 2:

2/3 cup cooked brown rice ( I steamed this rice ahead of time and had it in the refrigerator)
1/2 cup of black beans
2 TB or so of water
Taco Seasoning to taste (I used Spanish Gardens)
Salt to taste (OHCS)
Cilantro (fresh or dried) 2 pinches of dried or 2 TB fresh chopped
1 TB Taco Sauce
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 small red onion or yellow chopped in very small pieces

Stir all these ingredients and blend until heated through and onions are clear

2 sprouted corn tortillas or corn tortillas with only corn and lime and water as ingredients
Put a paper towel or paper plate in the microwave, put 2 tortillas in microwave on paper towel or plate. Cook 1- 1 1/2 minutes on high. Tortillas will be fairly hard and crispy. NOTE: you can fix the tortillas however you want, but I did it this way so that I would not be added the fat of oil to the tortillas

Spread guacamole mixture on each tortilla first.
Top with hot rice/bean mixture and chopped lettuce ( I prefer romaine, but any you like is fine)
Pour taco sauce over rice mixture if you want and eat immediately! and …………….ENJOY!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

