PUMPKIN OATMEAL! “BOATMEAL”

For those of you that know me well, you many still not know this one fact, but the call of PUMPKIN motivates me! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! It has been difficult over the summer months to find pumpkin in the store! I am so glad it is plentiful again! I know I have told you about this oatmeal in past posts, but since it is what I look forward to in the morning, especially this time of year, I thought I would revisit the subject!

This is before baking!

Here Is the recipe: “B”OATMEAL (baked oatmeal : )

for 2 (cut everything in half for one serving)

1 cup old fashioned oats
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp cinnamon (best is Vietnamese)
1/4 tsp nutmeg
sweetener such as 2 TB maple syrup or 1-2 packets Stevia
1/2 cup canned pumpkin
1/2 cup milk (non dairy preferred) coconut or almond
1/4 tsp salt
Optional: 1-2T oil or favorite nut butter (coconut oil or butter for those who use butter)

Options: raisins, walnuts, brown sugar for the top

Preheat over to 380 degrees

Combine raw oats, spices, pumpkin and milk.
Pour into a small baking pan, or loaf pan. Cook for 20 minutes, or more until it gets firm. Finally, set your oven to “high broil” for 3 more minutes, or until it reaches desired crispy-ness ( or simply just bake longer, but broiling gives it a nice crust)

Optional additions: a handful of crandberries, a handful of raisins, a handful of walnuts, some nut butter
MY PERSONAL FAVORITE “cranberries, raisins and walnuts” together! So hearty, OH SO GOOD!

This is after baking!

I hope that this inspires you for the fall! It does take longer to make because you bake it instead of cook on the stove…..but OH SO WELL WORTH THE WAIT!!

ENJOY!!

4 thoughts on “PUMPKIN OATMEAL! “BOATMEAL”

  1. Hi Lorie! I tripled this recipe and made it for our family for breakfast this morning! 🙂 It was yummy and very filling. Thank you for sharing it!

  2. Lori, I am searching for a blender and remember you mentioned where you bought your Vitamix from. I can’t find that now but would like to know if possible. Thanks! Nancy

Leave a Reply

